World Grand Prix - Day 3

The funniest, wierdest and wildest topics all in one place, preserved for posterity along with classic threads from the BDO and PDC world championships, the Grand Slam of Darts and more
Post Reply
xtreme rebel
County Player
Posts: 4506
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:19 pm

World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by xtreme rebel » Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:41 am

Wednesday October 6

Second Round
6.00pm Wayne Jones v Steve Brown
7.30pm Terry Jenkins v Adrian Lewis
9.00pm Phil Taylor v Andy Smith
10.30pm Gary Anderson v Kevin Painter

First to 3 sets. All games, bar Taylor v Smith, should be competitive enough.

User avatar
irishdartsfan
Steady Sixties
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 7:31 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by irishdartsfan » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:06 am

xtreme rebel wrote:Wednesday October 6

Second Round
6.00pm Wayne Jones v Steve Brown
7.30pm Terry Jenkins v Adrian Lewis
9.00pm Phil Taylor v Andy Smith
10.30pm Gary Anderson v Kevin Painter

First to 3 sets. All games, bar Taylor v Smith, should be competitive enough.


Heading off to this soon , jones v brown will be interesting , lewis v jenkins has the potential to be a cracker , and anderson v painter has to be the highlight of the night , here's to a good night anyway :CCDD: :CCCC:

User avatar
dartsfan11
Superleague Player
Posts: 1372
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:51 pm
Location: worcester

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by dartsfan11 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:27 am

really looking forward to the anderson-painter game,its a bit late mind so will need pleny of coffee to keep me awake.

User avatar
Rudy
County Player
Posts: 3535
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Zoetermeer, Holland

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Rudy » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:21 am

Wayne, Adie, Phil and Kevin through I think.


BTW Such a pity noone could answer my question in the day 2 thread about the double in rule, so I try again here:

If a player hits d. 20 with his first dart, then tr. 20 and again tr. 20 but he knocks the first dart out with his third dart, does he get no score or 160 less 40 = 120?
Thanks for answering!

Rudy.

User avatar
Ginge
International
Posts: 58658
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:23 am
Location: The West Riding

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Ginge » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:22 am

Rudy wrote:Wayne, Adie, Phil and Kevin through I think.


BTW Such a pity noone could answer my question in the day 2 thread about the double in rule, so I try again here:

If a player hits d. 20 with his first dart, then tr. 20 and again tr. 20 but he knocks the first dart out with his third dart, does he get no score or 160 less 40 = 120?
Thansk for answering!

Rudy.


At a guess, he would score 0. The score is only called after 3 darts have been thrown, and not after each dart. If no sucessful double has been thrown, the rules of the tournament state nothing is scored.

I think.

User avatar
Rudy
County Player
Posts: 3535
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Zoetermeer, Holland

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Rudy » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:41 am

That would be my plea too Bradley, but someone here in Holland thought maybe once the first double has been succesfully hit, there's entry for scoring as long as it doesn't fall out before the second dart has hit the board.

Any further thoughts? Maybe Russ -if he takes a peek on here- can comment?

Dazman
Superleague Player
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:28 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Dazman » Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:00 pm

I would say he get's no score. You usually have to retrieve your darts out of the board for a score to count in straightforward 501 games, so I don't see why it should be any different.

Of course, it would be unfortunate, but those are the rules I would imagine.
SoD World Matchplay champion 2008
SoD World Matchplay co-champion 2009
TSoD World Grand Prix runner-up 2010
TSoD World Championships champion 2011
TSoD UK Open Regional (Wigan) champion 2011
TSoD Premier League Week 12 champion 2011
TSoD Premier League joint runner-up 2011
TSoD World Grand Prix third place 2011
Darts Betting News Grand Slam of Darts champion 2011
TSoD Players Championship Finals co-champion 2011


Twitter - @Dazman5
http://www.sportsmole.co.uk

User avatar
King-Juffy-Jar
Steady Sixties
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 7:19 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by King-Juffy-Jar » Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:06 pm

Also think it would be a score of '0'

Nicholson Almost done it last night, his double tops dart started to look like it was falling out, he quickly chucked in two 20's and rushed to get it out, so im guessing he thought it would be a '0' as well.

User avatar
nikkiboy
International
Posts: 29074
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:34 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by nikkiboy » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:00 pm

Rudy wrote:Wayne, Adie, Phil and Kevin through I think.


BTW Such a pity noone could answer my question in the day 2 thread about the double in rule, so I try again here:

If a player hits d. 20 with his first dart, then tr. 20 and again tr. 20 but he knocks the first dart out with his third dart, does he get no score or 160 less 40 = 120?
Thanks for answering!

Rudy.

Hi Rudy, I think that it would be a no score, the reason being that legal scoring only started due to dart 1 therefore if dart 1 falls out then all subsequent darts are illegal and scoreless
Ginge wrote:the cancer has been cut from the BDO
21st April 2016 7:01am

ninjaskills
Brass Darts
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by ninjaskills » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:06 pm

nikkiboy wrote:
Rudy wrote:Wayne, Adie, Phil and Kevin through I think.


BTW Such a pity noone could answer my question in the day 2 thread about the double in rule, so I try again here:

If a player hits d. 20 with his first dart, then tr. 20 and again tr. 20 but he knocks the first dart out with his third dart, does he get no score or 160 less 40 = 120?
Thanks for answering!

Rudy.


this is why i always set off with 3 doubles, cover yourself if one falls out

or maybe thats what i say i'm doing when i just throw 3 off the board :(

User avatar
Mr Glass
County Player
Posts: 3699
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: unbreakable

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Mr Glass » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:19 pm

Rudy wrote:If a player hits d. 20 with his first dart, then tr. 20 and again tr. 20 but he knocks the first dart out with his third dart, does he get no score or 160 less 40 = 120?
Thanks for answering!
Rudy.

Interesting question Rudy and I too think that the score would probably be 0.

Another question for you all:-

When throwing nearest to the bull to decide on who throws first in a deciding leg - What happens if you throw a bounce-out.?

Do you get to throw it again, or is it just tough luck?

Cheers.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you know what the scariest thing is? To not know your place in this world, to not know why you're here. Elijah Price

User avatar
spaceman70
Player Sponsor Member
Player Sponsor Member
Posts: 23111
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:53 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by spaceman70 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:21 pm

BrideOfFrankenstein wrote:
Rudy wrote:If a player hits d. 20 with his first dart, then tr. 20 and again tr. 20 but he knocks the first dart out with his third dart, does he get no score or 160 less 40 = 120?
Thanks for answering!
Rudy.

Interesting question Rudy and I too think that the score would probably be 0.

Another question for you all:-

When throwing nearest to the bull to decide on who throws first in a deciding leg - What happens if you throw a bounce-out.?

Do you get to throw it again, or is it just tough luck?

Cheers.



Tough luck I think.
Member of the Peter Manley Fan Club Member of the Ted Hankey Fan Club

Steve Egerton = Idi Admin

User avatar
hang the dj
County Player
Posts: 4804
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 7:31 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by hang the dj » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:21 pm

dartsfan11 wrote:really looking forward to the anderson-painter game,its a bit late mind so will need pleny of coffee to keep me awake.

Agreed

Game of the night for me :headbang:

User avatar
Ginge
International
Posts: 58658
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:23 am
Location: The West Riding

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Ginge » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:24 pm

BrideOfFrankenstein wrote:
Rudy wrote:If a player hits d. 20 with his first dart, then tr. 20 and again tr. 20 but he knocks the first dart out with his third dart, does he get no score or 160 less 40 = 120?
Thanks for answering!
Rudy.

Interesting question Rudy and I too think that the score would probably be 0.

Another question for you all:-

When throwing nearest to the bull to decide on who throws first in a deciding leg - What happens if you throw a bounce-out.?

Do you get to throw it again, or is it just tough luck?

Cheers.



PDC rules - http://www.thedra.compsyswebdesign.com/ ... ONAUTH.pdf - see section 5.20

spaceman70 wrote:
Tough luck I think.


Section 5.24 covers tie Break, and the same rules apply Dave. The player can throw again in the event of a bounce-out

User avatar
spaceman70
Player Sponsor Member
Player Sponsor Member
Posts: 23111
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:53 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by spaceman70 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:43 pm

Bradders wrote:
BrideOfFrankenstein wrote:
Rudy wrote:If a player hits d. 20 with his first dart, then tr. 20 and again tr. 20 but he knocks the first dart out with his third dart, does he get no score or 160 less 40 = 120?
Thanks for answering!
Rudy.

Interesting question Rudy and I too think that the score would probably be 0.

Another question for you all:-

When throwing nearest to the bull to decide on who throws first in a deciding leg - What happens if you throw a bounce-out.?

Do you get to throw it again, or is it just tough luck?

Cheers.



PDC rules - http://www.thedra.compsyswebdesign.com/ ... ONAUTH.pdf - see section 5.20

spaceman70 wrote:
Tough luck I think.


Section 5.24 covers tie Break, and the same rules apply Dave. The player can throw again in the event of a bounce-out


You live and learn!!
Member of the Peter Manley Fan Club Member of the Ted Hankey Fan Club

Steve Egerton = Idi Admin

Chris Mason
The Ton Club
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:37 pm

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Chris Mason » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:49 pm

Player has to retrieve the dart for it to count.

User avatar
Paddy McGinty
International
Posts: 23319
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 11:01 am
Contact:

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Paddy McGinty » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:56 pm

What would happen if a player checked out and won the match, the caller shouted out game, leg and match, the player turns round to shake the others hand and give him a big cuddle, then the winning double falls out before he retrieves the dart?

paddy
"What a Fecking Catastrophe!!"

User avatar
Ginge
International
Posts: 58658
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:23 am
Location: The West Riding

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Ginge » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:57 pm

Paddy McGinty wrote:What would happen if a player checked out and won the match, the caller shouted out game, leg and match, the player turns round to shake the others hand and give him a big cuddle, then the winning double falls out before he retrieves the dart?

paddy


I think the ref calling "game shot" ends the leg.

User avatar
Paddy McGinty
International
Posts: 23319
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 11:01 am
Contact:

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Paddy McGinty » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:58 pm

Bradders wrote:
Paddy McGinty wrote:What would happen if a player checked out and won the match, the caller shouted out game, leg and match, the player turns round to shake the others hand and give him a big cuddle, then the winning double falls out before he retrieves the dart?

paddy


I think the ref calling "game shot" ends the leg.


I don't want guesses Bradley.....I can guess as well as the next man, I want cast iron fact.
"What a Fecking Catastrophe!!"

User avatar
Ginge
International
Posts: 58658
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:23 am
Location: The West Riding

Re: World Grand Prix - Day 3

Post by Ginge » Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:01 pm

Aha, found this:

5.11.04 A Game Shot called by a Referee is valid only if the thrown darts;
(i) achieve the required finish and
(ii) remain in the dartboard until retrieved by the Player whose Throw it was at the time
of calling the Game Shot. A leg is not completed until all darts are retrieved from the
dartboard by the Player who has thrown.

http://www.thedra.compsyswebdesign.com/ ... ONAUTH.pdf

Post Reply

Return to “The Stars Of Darts Archive Section”