Players Championship Canada 28th August 2010

Results from the players championships, UK Open and many more
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 31008
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:34 pm

Players Championship Canada 28th August 2010

Post by nikkiboy »

Canadian Joy For Caven
28 Aug 2010

JAMIE CAVEN took victory in Saturday's London Ontario Players Championship in Canada to claim his third PDC ProTour title.

The Derby ace defeated Michael van Gerwen 6-4 in the final to round off a fine day of darts, which included a 6-2 semi-final win over Dennis Priestley - last week's Australian Open Players Championship winner and the champion in Canada for the past two years.[wrapimg=right],,1 ... 710,00.jpg[/wrapimg]

Caven had overcome Dave Watson and John Morrison in the early rounds before seeing off Steve Evans 6-4 and Justin Pipe in a deciding leg to reach the last eight.

There he saw off Andy Hamilton 6-4 before overcoming Priestley in the semis and Dutch ace van Gerwen in the final.

Caven opened the final with a 130 finish, and took the next two legs before van Gerwen wired a 160 checkout as Caven took out 78 for a 4-0 cushion.

A 14-darter from van Gerwen saw him get off the mark in leg five, but Caven won the next and then missed four match darts as van Gerwen took the next and two more legs to reduce the gap to 5-4.

However, Caven was not to be denied and he took the tenth to seal victory and the £5,000 title.

Van Gerwen's run was his best since last November as he reached the final and boosted his chances of qualifying for the World Grand Prix in October.

The Dutchman defeated Isen Veljic in the first round, and saw off Paul Addison, Steve Brown, Mark Hylton, Kevin Painter and Wes Newton in his run to the decider.

Sunday sees the Canadian Masters Players Championship take place at the Hilton London Ontario in Canada.

London Ontario Players Championship
Round One
Wes Newton (1) v Bye
Par Riihonen 6-2 Bruce Davey
Roland Scholten (32) 6-0 Jason Ralph
Adam Bernard 6-2 Adam Sinnaeve
Jelle Klaasen (16) 6-4 Tony Randell
Sean Boussen 6-0 Rick Tesselaar
Mark Webster (17) 6-1 Pete Riehl
Dan Lauby 6-3 v Jeff Nutt
Colin Osborne (8) 6-2 Scott Brett
Wayne Smith 6-1 Chris Arsenault
John Part (25) 6-0 Jerry Castanguay
Kevin Hawkins 6-3 Al Moskwyn
Alan Tabern (9) 6-2 Stephane Rousseau
Jason Roker 6-0 David Kerr
Chris Scutt 6-3 Kevin McDine (24)
Shaun Narain 6-1 Sylvain Guerin
Steve Beaton (5) 6-0 Chris Greenwood
Doug Boehm 6-1 Chris White
Steve Maish (28) 6-5 Andre Carman
Glenn Fraser 6-1 David Twamley
Kevin Painter (12) 6-2 Jan Torres
Sean Smyth 6-1 Norm Wylie
Steve Hine (21) 6-0 Brian Williams
Darin Young 6-0 Martin Tremblay
Mark Walsh (4) 6-0 Ed Lewanick
Arron Monk 6-3 Larry Butler
Mark Hylton (29) 6-1 Nick Holmes
James Graton 6-1 Andrew McDonald
Steve Brown (13) 6-0 William Gibson
Mark Neilson 6-3 Charlie Vandernakker
Michael Van Gerwen (20) 6-2 Isen Veljic
Paul Addison 6-0 Lynn Marshall
Colin Lloyd (2) v Bye
John Patterson 6-2 Mark Simms
Gary Mawson 6-1 Darren Johnson (31)
Daniel Thibaudeau 6-2 Mike Magee
Dennis Priestley (15) 6-0 Aaron Talbot
Sylvain Bourque 6-1 Jesse Davis
Robert Thornton (18) 6-0 James Hind
Andrew Wilson 6-2 Fabian White
Denis Ovens (7) 6-2 Lloyd Bansey
Michael Lapierre 6-1 Sarah O'Connell
Matt Clark (26) 6-0 Guy Maffe
Bob Sinnaeve 6-1 Royden Lam
Mark Dudbridge (10) 6-0 Lee Maguire
Dano Corriveau 6-5 Douglas Lloyd
Nigel Heydon (23) 6-0 Korey Nichols
Bill Davis 6-5 Yves Raymond
Jamie Caven (6) 6-1 Dave Watson
John Morrison 6-0 Andrew Drummond
Steve Evans (27) 6-0 Steve Dinelle
Bill Neilson 6-5 Stuart Brown
Barrie Bates (11) 6-3 Ross Snook
Wayne Dragstra 6-1 Rick Kraemer
Justin Pipe (22) 6-3 Dan Olson
Kenny McNeil 6-0 Eldon Wallace
Andy Hamilton ( 3 ) v Bye
Jeff Noble 6-0 Yves Dauphinias
Nick Fullwell (30) 6-1 Gerry Convery
Chris Locke 6-3 Paul Cockings
Andy Jenkins 6-3 Paul Nicholson (14)
Scott Rand 6-0 Wayne Jenkins
Tony Eccles (19) 6-5 Jayson Barlow
Dave Switzer 6-0 Stanley Minogue

Round Two
Wes Newton 6-4 Par Riihonen
Roland Scholten 6-1 Adam Bernard
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Sean Boussen
Mark Webster 6-1 Dan Lauby
Colin Osborne 6-1 Wayne Smith
John Part 6-1 Kevin Hawkins
Alan Tabern 6-3 Jason Roker
Chris Scutt 6-3 Shaun Narian
Steve Beaton 6-4 Doug Boehm
Steve Maish 6-1 Glenn Fraser
Kevin Painter 6-3 Sean Smyth
Darin Young 6-2 Steve Hine
Mark Walsh 6-4 Arron Monk
Mark Hylton 6-2 James Graton
Steve Brown 6-0 Mark Neilsen
Michael van Gerwyn 6-0 Paul Addison
Colin Lloyd 6-1 John Patterson
Gary Mawson 6-0 Daniel Thibaudeau
Dennis Priestley 6-1 Sylvain Bouque
Robert Thornton 6-0 Andrew Wilson
Denis Ovens 6-0 Michael Lapierre
Bob Sinnaeve 6-5 Matt Clark
Mark Dudbridge 6-1 Dano Coiveau
Nigel Heydon 6-2 Bill Davis
Jamie Caven 6-1 John Morrison
Steve Evans 6-0 Bill Neilson
Barrie Bates 6-3 Wayne Dragstra
Justin Pipe 6-5 Kenny MacNeil
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Jeff Noble
Nick Fullwell 6-4 Chris Locke
Scott Rand 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Dave Switzer 6-4 Tony Eccles
Losers £100

Round Three
Wes Newton 6-2 Roland Scholten
Mark Webster 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Colin Osbone 6-4 John Part
Alan Tabern 6-3 Chris Scutt
Steve Beaton 6-5 Steve Maish
Kevin Painter 6-5 Darin Young
Mark Hylton 6-5 Mark Walsh
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Steve Brown
Colin Lloyd 6-1 Gary Mawson
Dennis Priestley 6-2 Robert Thornton
Denis Ovens 6-2 Bob Sinnaeve
Mark Dudbidge 6-2 Nigel Heydon
Jamie Caven 6-4 Steve Evans
Justin Pipe 6-1 Barrie Bates
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Nick Fullwell
Scott Rand 6-2 Dave Switzer
Losers £200

Round Four
Wes Newton 6-2 Mark Webster
Colin Osborne 6-4 Alan Tabern
Kevin Painter 6-5 Steve Beaton
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Mark Hylton
Dennis Priestley 6-2 Colin Lloyd
Mark Dudbridge 6-2 Denis Ovens
Jamie Caven 6-5 Justin Pipe
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Scott Rand
Losers £300

Wes Newton 6-2 Colin Osborne
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Kevin Painter
Dennis Priestley 6-5 Mark Dudbridge
Jamie Caven 6-4 Andy Hamilton
Losers £700

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Wes Newton
Jamie Caven 6-2 Dennis Priestley
Losers £1,250

Jamie Caven 6-4 Michael van Gerwen
Runner-up: £2,500
Winner: £5,000
Ginge wrote:the cancer has been cut from the BDO
21st April 2016 7:01am
Post Reply