Players Championship Canada 29th August 2010

Results from the players championships, UK Open and many more
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 31008
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:34 pm

Players Championship Canada 29th August 2010

Post by nikkiboy »

Jaws Bites In Canadian Masters
29 Aug 2010

COLIN LLOYD picked up his third tournament win of 2010 with a 6-1 defeat of Jamie Caven in the final of the Canadian Masters Players Championship.[wrapimg=right],,10 ... 713,00.jpg[/wrapimg]

The Essex star denied Caven back-to-back PDC ProTour titles to take the £5,000 first prize - continuing the form which saw him reach the European Championship semi-finals a month ago.

He showed his best form throughout the day, having missed double 12 for a nine-darter in his opening game, a 6-1 defeat of Jim Long, and then saw off Matt Clark by the same scoreline and Martin Tremblay 6-4 to reach the last eight.

There, he overcame Kevin Painter 6-4 and repeated that scoreline to see off in-form Wes Newton in the semi-finals, before sweeping past Caven in the decider.

Lloyd broke throw in the opening leg of the final before doubling his lead, and after Caven got off the mark in the third the former world number one took the fourth for a 3-1 cushion.

Another break gave him a 4-1 lead, and after Caven missed his chances in the next double 12 put him to the brink of victory, which was sealed in the seventh leg.

Caven followed up Saturday's London Ontario Players Championship victory with a run to the final, as he took home £7,500 for his weekend's work in Canada.

Having defeated home star Ken MacNeil in his opening game, he then saw off Roland Scholten and Mark Webster to reach the last eight, where he edged past Alan Tabern in a deciding leg and then overcame Steve Maish in the semis.

Maish's display was his best run since reaching a Players Championship semi-final in March, and included deciding leg wins against Barrie Bates and Dennis Priestley as well as a defeat of world number nine Mark Walsh.

Mark Dudbridge and Kevin Painter reached the quarter-finals for the second time over the weekend before losing to Newton and Lloyd respectively, while Newton was appearing in his second semi-final in as many days.

Canadian Masters Players Championship
First Round
Wes Newton (1) Bye
Dave Switzer 6-5 Arron Monk
Darren Johnson (32) 6-1 Shaun Warwick
Gary Mawson 6-2 Rick Almost
Michael van Gerwen (16) 6-0 Jerry Castonguay
Shaun Narain 6-1 Guy Maffe
Jelle Klaasen (17) 6-1 John Morrison
Bill Davis 6-2 Glenn Fraser
Colin Osborne (8) Bye
Dan Lauby 6-3 Yves Raymond
John Part (25) 6-1 Pete Reihl
Andy Jenkins 6-1 Dave Watson
Mark Dudbridge (9) Bye
Stephane Rousseau 6-3 Doug Boehm
Kevin McDine (24) 6-1 Chris Scutt
Dano Corriveau 6-2 Mark Neilson
Steve Beaton (5) Bye
Tony Randell 6-0 Eldon Wallace
Steve Evans (28) 6-5 Darin Young
Kory Nichols 6-5 Andrew McDonald
Kevin Painter (12) 6-0 Fabian White
Bruce Davey 6-5 Jeff Noble
Steve Hine (21) 6-3 Paul Addison
Chris White 6-2 James Graton
Colin Lloyd (4) Bye
Jim Long 6-3 Stuart Brown
Matt Clark (29) 6-2 Sean Smyth
James Hind 6-2 Steve Dinelle
Steve Brown (13) 6-0 Yves Dauphinais
Sylvain Guerin 6-3 David Twamley
Tony Eccles (20) 6-0 Mark Simms
Martin Tremblay 6-4 Scott Rand
Jamie Caven (2) Bye
Ken MacNeil 6-0 Jesse Davis
Roland Scholten (31) 6-0 Ed Lewanick
Charlie Vandenakker 6-1 Sarah O'Connell
Paul Nicholson (15) 6-0 Paul Cockings
Royden Lam 6-1 Andre Carman
Mark Webster (18) 6-1 Jayson Barlow
Sylvain Bourque 6-0 Rick Tesselaar
Denis Ovens (7) Bye
Ross Snook 6-4 Gerry Convery
Mark Hylton (26) 6-1 Adam Sinnaeve
Bob Sinnaeve 6-0 Stanley Minogue
Alan Tabern (10) Bye
William Gibson 6-5 Torman Warford
Nigel Heydon (23) 6-2 Larry Butler
Andrew Wilson 6-0 Lynn Marshall
Mark Walsh (6) Bye
Chris Locke 6-1 Wayne Smith
Steve Maish (27) 6-2 Kevin Hawkins
Norm Wylie 6-0 John Patterson
Barrie Bates (11) 6-0 Scott Brett
Jackie Buessecker 6-3 Sean Boussen
Justin Pipe (22) 6-3 Jim Munro
David Munro 6-1 Chris Arsenault
Andy Hamilton (3) Bye
Par Riihonen 6-3 Brian Williams
Nick Fullwell (30) 6-1 Nick Holmes
Chris Greenwood 6-5 Al Moskwyn
Dennis Priestley (14) 6-0 Isen Veljic
Dan Olson 6-0 Bill Nielson
Robert Thornton (19) 6-0 Daniel Thibadeau
Jason Roker 6-3 Rick Kraemer

Second Round
Wes Newton 6-2 Dave Switzer
Darren Johnson 6-3 Gary Mawson
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Shaun Narain
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Bill Davis
Colin Osborne 6-3 Dan Lauby
John Part 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Mark Dudbridge 6-0 Stephane Rousseau
Dano Corriveau 6-4 Kevin McDine
Steve Beaton 6-5 Tony Randell
Steve Evans 6-0 Kory Nichols
Kevin Painter 6-2 Bruce Davey
Steve Hine 6-3 Chris White
Colin Lloyd 6-1 Jim Long
Matt Clark 6-1 James Hind
Steve Brown 6-3 Sylvain Guerin
Martin Tremblay 6-5 Tony Eccles
Jamie Caven 6-1 Ken MacNeil
Roland Scholten 6-0 Charlie Vandenakker
Royden Lam 6-3 Paul Nicholson
Mark Webster 6-0 Sylvain Bourque
Ross Snook 6-5 Denis Ovens
Mark Hylton 6-2 Bob Sinnaeve
Alan Tabern 6-2 William Gibson
Nigel Heydon 6-1 Andrew Wilson
Mark Walsh 6-1 Chris Locke
Steve Maish 6-1 Norm Wylie
Barrie Bates 6-1 Jackie Buessecker
Justin Pipe 6-0 David Munro
Andy Hamilton 6-2 Par Riihonen
Nick Fullwell 6-2 Chris Greenwood
Dennis Priestley 6-5 Dan Olson
Robert Thornton 6-4 Jason Roker
Losers £100

Third Round
Wes Newton 6-3 Darren Johnson
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Michael van Gerwen
John Part 6-3 Colin Osborne
Mark Dudbridge 6-1 Dano Corriveau
Steve Evans 6-5 Steve Beaton
Kevin Painter 6-0 Steve Hine
Colin Lloyd 6-1 Matt Clark
Martin Tremblay 6-4 Steve Brown
Jamie Caven 6-2 Roland Scholten
Mark Webster 6-3 Royden Lam
Mark Hylton 6-1 Ross Snook
Alan Tabern 6-3 Nigel Heydon
Steve Maish 6-3 Mark Walsh
Barrie Bates 6-3 Justin Pipe
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Nick Fullwell
Dennis Priestley 6-3 Robert Thornton
Losers £200

Fourth Round
Wes Newton 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Mark Dudbridge 6-3 John Part
Kevin Painter 6-4 Steve Evans
Colin Lloyd 6-4 Martin Tremblay
Jamie Caven 6-3 Mark Webster
Alan Tabern 6-4 Mark Hylton
Steve Maish 6-5 Barrie Bates
Dennis Priestley 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Losers £300

Wes Newton 6-2 Mark Dudbridge
Colin Lloyd 6-4 Kevin Painter
Jamie Caven 6-5 Alan Tabern
Steve Maish 6-5 Dennis Priestley
Losers £700

Colin Lloyd 6-4 Wes Newton
Jamie Caven 6-2 Steve Maish
Losers £1,250

Colin Lloyd 6-1 Jamie Caven
Winner £5,000
Runner-Up £2,500

Ginge wrote:the cancer has been cut from the BDO
21st April 2016 7:01am
Post Reply